13 May

Diana Irey Vaughan Named ATHENA Award Recipient

It is safe to say that Diana Irey Vaughan has accomplished many things in her five terms as Washington County Commissioner, and her achievements were recognized earlier this month as she was named the recipient of the 2014 ATHENA Award for Washington County.

The award, presented annually by chambers of commerce, women’s organizations and universities, was established through the organizations in partnership with ATHENA International’s national underwriters, local businesses and individual sponsors.

The Washington County Chamber of Commerce partnered with First Commonwealth Bank and several
dozen sponsors to recognize the five finalists for the 12th Annual ATHENA Award. In addition to Ms. Irey Vaughan, the other finalists included Mary Anna Babich, director of environmental services for Dawood Engineering, Inc.; Sheila Cowieson, vice president and senior business development officer for Community Bank; Donna Ramusivich, senior vice president at Monongahela Valley Hospital; and Aleta Richmond, president of the Pennsylvania Federation of Business & Professional Women.

The ATHENA Award has been in place internationally since 1982. It was created to recognize a man or woman who has achieved the highest level of professional excellence, contributes time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community, and actively assists others – particularly
women – in realizing their full leadership potential.

“It has been such an amazing experience to be a finalist and to get to know the other extraordinary women who were also finalists,” Ms. Irey Vaughan told a gathering of over 350 people at the awards presentation. “It has been terrific to see their hearts and their passions. I just have so much respect for them.”

Ms. Irey Vaughan mentioned each finalist by name and spoke of their accomplishments.

“Thank you to the women who nominated me. I feel truly blessed,” she continued. “So many of you have been a part of my story – my journey – my life. My prayer for all of you would be that you are a part of someone else’s story, and God will bless you richly every day that you are out there blessing someone else.”

Ms. Irey Vaughan was first elected commissioner in 1995. She has been involved in economic development in the county, and worked closely with the Washington County Chamber of Commerce to develop a “one-stop-shop creating a unified delivery system for economic development efforts. She was also named one of the “Top 60 Pittsburghers of the Year” by Pittsburgh Magazine, and serves on numerous boards for charitable organizations.

Ms. Irey Vaughan joins a distinguished list of other ATHENA Award recipients including Stephanie Urchick, Mary Jo Podgurski, Rebecca Bowman, R. Carlyn Belczyk, Traci Lynn McDonald, Darlene Bigler, Betsie Trew, Mary Lou Murt, Debra Rhone, Kathleen Sabol and Mary Lyn Dewaitz.